Home Forums Teacher’s Discussion Forum FINANCIAL MATHS

This topic contains 1 reply, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Avatar Zet Zet Zozo 6 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Sdumo Msindo
    Participant

help me in teaching of financial maths in grade 12, it is new to me and also I am new in teaching this grade. I understand simple interest, compound interest and their formulas but when it goes deeper I don’t understand.

Zet Zet Zozo
    Participant

I think it is better for you to understand the terminology and symbols/parameters used in this section first and then you must give a chance to learners to give their understanding. If one understands the term correctly, ask him/her to explain to the others. You may motivate and assist where necessary. Other things important are symbols/parameters used to represent a term or a phrase needs to be explained to the learners. This is my approach for the past 3 years and in all these years my learners were doing good in mid-year exams in this section and I make correction, where necessary and in trial excellent results

Anonymous

Hi This is a very general question and I remembered that in another discussion a teacher said that what they always do is Google the problem. I googled ‘ South Africa Financial maths Grade 12’ . In the list were some videos explaining some of the more complicated ideas. Do you have a phone that can show video clips or some access to the internet. If so you could try these videos:
    http://vimeo.com/5637683 and

If anyone has found other useful videos please could they post the links.

Chris Clarke
    Participant

As an extra resource, maths911 has mad a couple of books to help with financial mathematics. They can be found on the department of education website here and I’ve also attached them below

Chris Clarke
    Participant